NC by County

The Genealogist Guide to

North Carolina Resources

County by County Guide for Researchers & Visitors

Current Counties on NCAncestry
Counties That Have Some Information On This Website. See list below for links.

Welcome to the county by county page.  This is a work in progress.


As I add information, records, maps, and stories about the various counties, this list will grow.

For a list of all North Carolina counties (even those not in existence anymore), CLICK HERE.

Alamance County

Albemarle (abolished by 1739)

Alexander County

Allegany County

Anson County

Avery County

Bath (abolished in 1739)

Beaufort County

Bertie County

Bladen County

Brunswick County

Buncombe County

Burke County

Cabarrus County

Caldwell County

Camden County

Carteret County

Caswell County 

Catawba County

Chatham County

Cherokee County

Chowan County

Clarendon (abandoned by 1667)

Clay County

Cleveland County

Columbus County

Craven County

Cumberland County

Dare County

Davidson County

Davie County

Dobbs County

Duplin County

Durham County

Edgecombe County

Forsyth County

Franklin County

Gaston County

Gates County

Glasgow (abolished 1799, became Greene)

Graham County

Granville County

Greene County

Guilford County

Halifax County

Harnett County

Haywood County

Henderson County

Hertford County

Hoke County

Hyde County

Jackson County

Johnston County

Jones County

Lee County

Lenore County

Macon County

Martin County

McDowell County

Mecklenburg County

Montgomery County

Moore County

Nash County

New Hanover County

Northampton County

Onslow County

Orange County

Pamlico County

Pasquotank County

Pender County

Person County

Perquimans County

Polk County

Randolph County

Richmond County

Robeson County

Rowan County

Wake County

Wilkes County

Tips for learning genealogy Click Here.